When you create a community on Habitate, by default it is in public. You can keep your entire community private by doing the following
1. Enable waitlist for your community that no one gets to see the community content or be part of the community unless you get to be a member of the community
2. You can create private or secret boards where people land on a community that will not showcase community
Note: With Private and Secret boards enabled in your community, it becomes evident that your content will not be SEO-friendly.
1. Private community is exclusively built for certain users based on your user persona
2. If your community deals with sensitive information or anything related to affirmations where privacy is something you want to opt for; if you want to create a safe and private environment for your users, then private community comes in handy